Tuesday, June 24, 2008


At the end of its last meeting, the Council adopted a list of 13 new Special Procedures mandate holders, as follows:

Frank William La Rue Lewy of Guatemala, as Special Rapporteur on the right to freedom of opinion and expression;

Anand Grover of India, as Special Rapporteur on the right to health;

Githu Muigai of Kenya, as Special Rapporteur on contemporary forms of racism;

Joy Ngozi Ezeilo Emekekwue of Nigeria, as Special Rapporteur on trafficking in persons;

Maya Sahli of Algeria, as a member of the Working Group on people of African descent;

Shaheen Sardar Ali of Pakistan, as a member of the Working Group on arbitrary detention; and

Michel Forst of France, as Independent Expert appointed by the Secretary-General on the situation of human rights in Haiti.

In addition, the following five members of the Expert Mechanism on the rights of indigenous peoples were approved:

Catherine Odimba Kombe of Congo;

Jose Mencio Molintas of the Philippines;

Jannie Lasimbang of Malaysia;

Jose Carlos Morales Morales of Costa Rica; and

John Henrikson of Norway.

Viktoria Mohasci of Hungary was appointed as Chairperson for the Forum on minority issues.

Source: http://www.unhchr.ch/huricane/huricane.nsf/view01/3F8625572007BBCBC125746C006CED7B?opendocument

No comments: